top of page
Search

Ordering coffee in Australia

Updated: Mar 1, 2020


I’m a proud American coffee drinker, which means I’m happiest with a large hot beverage in my hand. This can come in the form of machine filtered coffee (e.g. what you get a Dunkin or name-your-coffeeshop), pour-over or the occasional Americano. The Sydney coffee scene is strong (pun!) and certainly holds its own vs. the likes of the NYC (though on a smaller scale). You should know how to order a proper brew, here’s the rundown:


American -to- Aussie:

  • Machine Filtered coffee = Batch brew

  • Pour-over = V60 (does anyone know where this comes from?)

  • Americano = Americano (old faithful when traveling outside the US)

  • Long Black, this is an Americano except the hot water is poured first (followed by espresso) which supposedly changes the flavor profile. I feel snobby writing that, *will punish self*


Where to get Coffee: “Haven” is phenomenally situated (next to the Central station on light rail), it features ample seating on communal and single tables, has a rustic/nature inspired décor and gets flooded with sunlight. The staff are super nice and genuine coffee nerds + the place has a cool vibe overall. Does this sound like coffee paradise? It kinda is…

I ended up meeting a fellow traveler / Briton who was gushing over her pour-over *ahem* V60 and a staff member who took pity on me as a wallowed in ignorance (provided the walkthrough above). I had both of Haven’s V60 with Colombian beans. What stole the show was their food menu.



I had the vegan granola; a house-made granola mix, berries and almond milk. It was epic (and I later found out also a favorite among Haven staff).


Other recos which come from highly reliable sources (Surry Hills area, Sydney is not that big / this is close to most areas you would stay at):

· Frothy

· Devon Cafe

· Paramount coffee

I can’t wait to be back in Sydney so I can try them all.

(preferably machine filtered or pour-over). When traveling

24 views0 comments

Comments


Anchor 1
bottom of page